UMKC’s piece of shit computer and shitty ass IS department

this was my letter, i was pretty kind actually:

First of all, I have emailed multiple problems to the IS department and have had zero responses. Thank you for getting back to me on those. I love how there is just an automated response saying that your team will get to my question/problem. Sadly, they never do. So let us address one of the biggest problems here at umkc. There is no way to clear application data easily, users always have an “exceeded” profile space, which does not allow them to log out.

Ok, let us look at the scenarios, they ask a lab assistant to help, the assistant will just say, move all of your stuff on your desktop to your Q drive. Wow, what a temporary fix if any. That is only a small amount of the problem. Most of it lies in the application data, consider when a student uses a heavy java based program through something like the owl websites for organic chemistry. That program doesn’t automatically clear out when they turn close Microsoft explorer. It just sits there, adding to their profile space, which has been exceeded. What are they going to do? First, as I mentioned earlier, they MIGHT ask a lab assistant (who usually are not qualified to answer computer based questions – and try solve all printing problems by ADDING MORE PAPER), the assistant will, as I said earlier, say to move stuff to the Q drive. Which, will NOT work if they problem is having to much stuff building up in the application data. So what does the student do now? They need to go, but they cannot log out. Well, they will simply press and hold the power button in order to shut down the computer manually. What a fantastic idea!!! We have solved how to log off…but what happens when that computer illiterate shuts down the wrong computer? What happens when I was working on a big project (which I save constantly), and then the person next to me shuts down my computer and I lose my work between saves? Thanks a lot for that. I’m glad that the UMKC IS team is contributing to loss of work. MAYBE, just MAYBE you would take my idea and make a standard icon on the desktop to clear out application data like I did.

Let us go ahead and move onto another issue that I have on my mind. Today I decided to use your firefox instead of my ‘portable firefox’…I transferred all of my bookmarks from my portable into your firefox; I customized everything the way I like it. Eventually I logged off and came back an hour later. I noticed that my ‘profile space’ was exceeded (we’ve already covered this topic before), so I looked to see what the problem was, oh it’s a firefox issue, its taking too much user profile space. So I went to application data and tried to delete it. That didn’t work; I realized that I still had firefox opened. I closed it, and then I tried to delete the info again. This time, it WORKED!!, just kidding, it didn’t work. I went to the task manager and saw two instances of firefox running. I shut those down and went back to the desktop; I went to my application data and tried to delete the 5 mb from firefox that was causing the problem of using too much profile space. Finally, I have the ABILITY to log off…

Now the problem wish firefox is that it deleted all of my bookmarks and customization. Why was everything reset? Luckily I back up my bookmarks, but why should I have to reload my info every single time I log into umkc and start up firefox here? Why does it keep starting from scratch every time I log in?

End.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

